12 Step Korean Skin Care

Some say it’s 10 steps, while others say it’s 12. Either way, Korean skin care routine is definitely different from what we are used to.

The normal skin care routine from what I remember when I was younger was 1. Cleanse, 2. Tone, and 3. Moisturize. Just doing those 3 steps already makes me feel like my face is so clean. When I was even younger, I don’t even tone and moisturize! I only cleanse haha! Those were the days!

But as we grow older, our skin’s needs change. We lose collagen, which contributes to the elasticity of the skin, thus, resulting to wrinkles. We’re lucky that there’s already a lot of skin care products available everywhere, both cheap and expensive.

In this entry, I will talk about my own skin care regimen. I will also provide cheaper and drug store alternatives to the products that I use!

I’m not into luxury brands because I’m not rich. I also feel guilty to splurge too much on things. So don’t expect that I use expensive brands hehe!

My skin care routine is slightly different when I have worn makeup that day, and if I haven’t. As much as we all love makeup, we need to make sure that everything is removed before we go to bed.

Following the famous Korean Skin Care Routine, here’s mine.

17-01-19-14-47-51-317_deco

Step 0: Oil Cleanser/Micellar Water/Other Makeup Removers

softymo

What I’m currently using: Kose Softymo Speedy Cleansing Oil
My Holy Grail: Kose Softymo Speedy Cleansing Oil
Original Price: Around 300 yen

Where to buy: Japan drug stores, Amazon

When I was still in the Philippines, whenever I have a friend who will visit Japan (or a friend who lives in Japan visits the Philippines), I ask them to buy me this (along many others lol).

I brought a bottle of this here in the US (and 2 refills) when I moved. Since I can’t work yet, I seldom use it. But once I’m working, I know that my stock will slowly diminish.

Luckily, a friend of mine who will visit me here in CA in July recently went to Japan. I asked her to get me some refills. I’m also planning to visit Japan hopefully this December, and I will buy a year’s worth of stock, I’m telling you! This is my holy grail in removing makeup!

Why I love it: It removes makeup gently but surely, and it’s easy to wash! Despite it being an “oil cleanser”, it washes off like water!

Alternatives: 
Kose Softymo is only available in Japan, and can be expensive if purchased online. Here’s what I suggest as alternatives:
1. Bifesta Eye Makeup Remover – available in Watsons stores in the Philippines
2. Biore Micellar Cleansing Water – also available in Watsons stores in the Philippines
3. Human Heart Nature Cleansing Oil – available in their website (both in the PH and internationally)

Step 1: Facial Wash/Soap

hya

What I’m currently using: April Skin Magic Stone Black (day) and Grey (Night)
My Holy Grail: Kose Softymo Hyaluronic Acid Face Wash
Original Price: Around 300 yen
Where to buy:
SOFTYMO – Japanese drug stores, Amazon
APRIL SKIN – Amazon

I already ran out of Kose Softymo’s Hyaluronic Acid Face Wash. My new stocks will arrive most probably around February. I’m currently using April Skin’s Magic Stone soaps. They’re really good and long lasting. I will make a separate review on the stones maybe next time!

Why I love it:
Softymo

Just like their Speedy Cleansing Oil, their Hyaluronic Acid face was is the best! It’s been my favorite since 2015! It gently removes all the gunks on the face, while leaving it soft and healthy. I never had any breakouts while using it.
Hyaluronic Acid – aids in anti aging and making the skin look youthful

April Skin Magic Stones

51zixq87l

I’ve been seeing a lot of good reviews about this soap, so I tried it. They said that it lasts long, but mine is not even a month old yet and I’ve already finished half of it. I guess it’s ok! It cleans the face thoroughly, but makes it dry. So make sure to always put on moisturizer afterwards! It’s something that I bought because I wanna try it and I also already ran out of my favorite.

Alternatives: To be honest, any drug store facial wash or soap is okay. Facial wash is really important, but I am never brand-conscious when it comes to it. My advise is to use whatever works on you, and depending on your skin needs. If you’re acne-prone, use anti-acne products (I highly suggest The Body Shop’s Tea Tree line). If your face is dry, use a moisturizing wash.

Step 2: Exfoliate

dsc_0020_7

What I’m currently using: St. Ives Green Tea Scrub
My Holy Grail: Human Heart Nature Strawberry Purifying Scrub
Original Price: Depends on where you’re located
Where to Buy: HumanHeartNature.com

Why I love it:
Human Heart Nature
I’m so glad that Human Heart Nature also caters to US customers. They’re my most favorite Philippine beauty brand!

Their strawberry purifying scrub is the best I’ve tried! It’s made from all natural products and the best thing about it is it’s cruelty-free!

St Ives
Since it’s not a “deep scrub”, you can use it up to 3x daily to avoid having pimples. I use it daily and despite it being a scrub, my face doesn’t dry at all. In fact, your face will also feel soft after using it

Alternatives: Other than other St Ives scrubs, I haven’t really tried anything else. But soon, I will try to make my own sugar scrub!

Step 3: Toner

DSC_0007_9.png

What I’m currently using: It’s Skin Supersize Pore Tightener
My Holy Grail: Human Heart Nature Toners (depending on my skin need)
Original Price: I have no idea, but I got it for 700 pesos
Where to buy:
Its Skin –  Amazon
Human Heart Nature
>> Balancing Toner or at Robinsons Galleria in the PH
>> Nourishing Toner also at Robinsons Galleria

Why I love it:
ITS SKIN
It says it will reduce the size of your pores. Anything that make the pores smaller = I love! But honestly, I haven’t seen any visible effects yet.

Human Heart Nature
It’s cheap, it’s natural, it’s cruelty-free, and to be honest, their toners have worked best on my skin!

Alternatives: There’s a lot of toners available in drug stores. Unless you’re brand conscious, anything will do

Step 4: First Essence

DSC_0025_6.png

What I’m currently using: Secret Key Starting Treatment Essence
My Holy Grail: Secret Key First Treatment Essence
Original Price: I don’t know, but I usually get it at a kinda cheap price (or free)
Where to buy: Amazon

Why I love it:
I only learned about first essences maybe a little over a year ago. All the first essences that I’m seeing are too damn expensive! You know SK-II? A bottle is like more than 100USD!

I seriously haven’t tried anything else other than Secret Key, so much holy grail might change. People say that Missha’s Time Revolution is better, but I will know that once I finish my current (2nd) bottle.

Alternatives:
Like I said, I’ve only used Secret Key so far, so I can’t suggest anything else. But recently, E.L.F. Cosmetics released their own first essence and it’s only 10USD.

Step 5: Essence

DSC_0026_5.png

What I’m currently using: Guerisson 9 Complex Essence
My Holy Grail: Guerisson 9 Complex Essence
Original Price: I also don’t know, sorry XD
Where to buy: Amazon

Why I love it:
I’ve been using essences for years now, and already tried several brands. So far, this is my favorite! I’ve seen people heal their scars fast because of this. And not just facial scars, but body scars. I have a friend who got into a minor accident and had a huge scratch on her leg. After finishing half a bottle, the scar is already almost gone. Some friends who have lots of money even use it on their underarms and stretch marks. That’s how good it is!

As for me, I just started using it a few months ago and I always keep on forgetting so I haven’t seen that much effect yet, aside from reduced pimple marks. But that’s already a great effect, yes?

Alternatives:
1. Hada Labo Gokujun Hyaluronic Lotion

Step 6: Treatment

tea-tree-oil_l

What I’m currently using: The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil
My Holy Grail: The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil
Original Price: varies per country (I swear, it’s most expensive in the Philippines!)
Where to buy: The Body Shop stores worldwide

Why I love it
Sadly, I’m pimple and acne-prone. I suffered low self-esteem when I was younger because of it. I hated taking pictures lol. I’ve tried a lot of products; clyndamycin, Neutrogena, Cetaphil… all the products that worked on other people didn’t seem to work on me, until I tried TBS Tea Tree oil.

I actually used their entire Tea Tree line, which helped in curing my breakouts. Tea tree really works on pimples, but it dries out the skin. So make sure to use moisturizer afterwards.

I only use tea tree oil on the pimple spot itself, only when I have pimples. No need to use treatment if there’s nothing to treat!

Alternatives:
1. Zen Zest Tea Tree Oil – TBS Tea Tree oil is around 500php. ZenZest’s is only 150pesos. It’s not as strong as TBS’ (I noticed, because TBS is really concentrated), but it works the same, for less than 1/3 of the price

Step 7: Serum/Ampoule

dsc_0027_6

What I’m currently using: Mizon’s HerbSys Deep Sea Marine Collagen Ampoule
My Holy Grail: I’ve only used Mizon’s so far so I can’t decide on a holy grail serum yet
Original Price: Korean brands don’t usually put the price on their English websites
Where to buy: Amazon

Why I love it: It’s my first serum and it was given to me as a gift by a friend. I’ve been using it daily in the past months and though there are no visible effects yet, I love how it feels on the skin.

Alternatives:
1. Skin Potions Tomato Juice Serum
2. Human Heart Nature’s Overnight Skin Elixir
3. Missha Super Aqua Pore Correcting Refine Serum
4. L’Oreal Revitalift
5. Its Skin Power 10 Serums (lots of types to choose from!)

Step 8: Sheet Mask

81lyevsyjrl-_sl1500_

What I’m currently using: Dermal Korea Collagen Essence Masks
My Holy Grail: Dermal Korea Collagen Essence Masks
Original Price: I don’t know, but they’re much cheaper than the rest
Where to buy: Amazon 1, 2

Why I love it:
I’ve tried so many sheet mask brands from well-known brands to unknown. Popular brands like Etude House, The Face Shop and Tony Moly have them, but it’s expensive (normally 1USD up per mask). They work ok, but no matter what type I buy, they all smell and feel the same.

I obviously haven’t brought enough sheet mask when I moved here because they’re heavy. So the moment I got the chance to buy them at Amazon, I searched for the cheapest ones because for me, they’re all the same.

That’s when I found out about Dermal Korea.

It’s a new brand to me, so I’m kinda hesitant to buy. I tried the SOO brand, and it makes my face itchy. I also tried other cheaper brands, but there’s nothing special.

Dermal Korea is different! Each mask smells different.If it says rose essence, it smells like roses. If it says honey, it smells like honey! And the good thing is, it doesn’t make me itchy! And it’s one of the cheapest brands you can find even on Amazon!

Alternatives:
1. The Face Shop
2. Innisfree
3. Etude House
4. OBS Labs

Step 9: Emulsion

71xvvhzmadl-_sl1500_

What I’m currently using: None, I ran out of it
My Holy Grail: Hada Labo Gokujun Milky Lotion
Original Price: less than 1000 yen, I believe
Where to buy: Japan drug stores, Amazon

Why I love it:
First, I’m talking about the Japanese version of Hada Labo.
Here in the US, you can buy “Hada Labo” in stores like Target. However, the packaging is different. I haven’t tried it yet (and I’m not planning to lol), so I don’t know if they’re the same.

Hada Labo works great in making your skin look healthier. It also helps in removing scars in blemishes. A friend of mine used to have issues with her skin but upon using it, her skin became clear.

Alternatives:
There’s a lot of emulsions at Amazon, but most of them are Korean brands. If you want something without buying online, you can try the US version of Hada Labo

Step 10: Moisturizing Cream

61pixlaih-l-_sl1000_

What I’m currently using: Depending on my skin’s needs
Guerisson 9 Complex Horse Oil Cream
Mizon Collagen Power Lifting Cream
Secret Key Snow White Cream
The Skin House Wrinkle Collagen Cream
Eunyul Snail Special Program Cream
Mizon Placenta Ampoule Cream
My Holy Grail: Guerisson 9 Complex Horse Oil Cream

Original Price: it varies
Where to buy: Check the links on each item above

Why I love it:
Guerisson – it’s the same line as the essence, and together they work wonders not only in moisturizing, but also in repairing the skin. It’s good to use no matter what your skin condition is.

I have also noticed that ever since I used it, I never had any breakouts anymore. I’ve been pimple free for a long time because of this!

Alternatives:
1. Human Nature Night Moisturizer
2. Garnier (the whitening ones are only available in the Philippines/Asia)
3. L’Oreal Revitalift
4. Olay Total Effects Anti-aging face moisturizer
5. Ponds
6. Hortaleza Total Solution Perfecting Cream– super good!

Step 11: Eye Cream

632976_xlarge

What I’m currently using: Purebess Galactomyces 80 Eye Cream
My Holy Grail: L’oreal Revitalift Triple Power Eye Treatment
Original Price: 16+ USD
Where to buy: Watsons (Philippines), Target or other stores (US)

Why I love it
L’oreal Revitalift – I’ve tried many Korean brands of eye cream but I honestly haven’t seen any effects yet. L’Oreal is the only one that had effects on me. Sadly, I can’t find my L’Oreal eye cream lol. Good thing it’s available in almost all drug stores all over the world.

Alternatives:
Eye creams doesn’t really work right away. I’ve been using L’Oreal Revitalift for months before I saw small changes on my fine lines. I guess you need to use one religiously for a year or so to see visible changes.
1. Garnier Eye Roller – the type differs depending on the location.
2. Burts Bees Sensitive Eye Cream
3. Olay Total Effects 

Step 12: Sleeping Pack

51l8cjdjoul-_sl1000_

What I’m currently using: Skin Food Facial Water Vita-C Cream
My Holy Grail: I’ve only used Skin Food’s so far and it’s not even really meant as a sleeping pack (though it can work as one) so I can’t say that it’s my holy grail yet
Original Price: Most probably cheaper than Amazon lol
Where to buy: Amazon

Why I love it: I searched for moisturizers that also works as something else on Amazon, and this is what I found. It says that it can also work as a mask, so I am sold!

Alternatives: I haven’t seen any multi-working creams yet aside from this. But for sleeping packs, there’s a lot!
1. Etude House Bubble Tea
2. Tony Moly Banana
3. Tony Moly Panda

 

There’s a lot, right? It’s expensive and it takes a lot of time and effort, but it’s worth it! But you don’t have to do all 12 steps, nor do you need to use the expensive brands. That’s why I linked to alternative products in each step, so you can still try it without having to spend a lot 🙂

Leave a comment